new gun stuff…

I currently own a Bushmaster Carbon 15 M4 style carbine. The carbon fiber receivers and it’s lack of a dust cover and forward assist make this model not everybody’s “cup o tea”, but I enjoy it; and for what I have been using it for it has been a dependable, lightweight and entirely sufficient tool.

I have been adding a few “upgrades” and components here and there over time. I have changed forends a few times, tried various vertical foregrips, and replaced the pistol grip. The one decision I had a tad of “buyers remorse” over was my stock replacement.

I wanted a fixed stock so I put an ACE ARFX-E entry length stock on it with a 1/2″ recoil pad. I like to run my carbine “nose to charging handle” and with the buttstock closer to the center of my chest with a squared up stance vs in the shoulder pocket and a more bladed stance. This short stock worked nicely when shooting this style, but I found that it was way too short for me to make any other position work efficiently.

In order to increase my length of pull a few additional inches I decided to replace the recoil pad with the beefier 1″ version. I also discovered the DPMS Buttstock Extender. This piece of Aluminum (with included buffer tube extension) added another 1″ of length. This put me (more or less) in the same neighborhood as an A1 stock.

A word of advice from a guy who apparently can’t learn a lesson. When I put the fixed stock on the first time I forgot that the buffer retention pin is spring-loaded and when the extension tube is threaded out it can shoot across a room quite expediently. Well, when I was putting the DPMS extender on guess what happened again. Yup….sprrrrooooinnng!

Share