tactical preschool 10


Today I will teach you a lesson in what NOT to do. Perhaps the title should be…“Guns, Common Sense and being a Good Neighbor”.

When you are out with your friends playing with things that go BANG, its is good to remember the Cardinal Rules of Gun Safety;

Rule # 1: Treat all firearms as if they are always loaded.

Rule # 2: Never allow the muzzle of your firearm to point toward anything you do not intend to kill or destroy.

Rule # 3: Keep your finger off the trigger until your sights are aligned with your target and you are ready to shoot.

Rule # 4: Be sure of your target, it’s surroundings, and what’s beyond it.

I don’t know about anybody else, but when “I” am out with some heavily armed associates, it’s RULE #2 that concerns ME the most. In other words “DON’T POINT THAT THING AT ME!”

isotop1

All kidding aside… In the heat of the moment it can become easier than you think to “sweep” your buddy with the muzzle of your weapon.

isotop2

It is also easy to forget that YOU have other guys with guns around you and step across their line of fire.

isotop3

One of the nasty effects of combat stress that you tend to get “tunnel vision“. Your “reptile brain” decides that its best to focus all of your attention on the thing that looks like it may KILL you; to the exclusion of the things you cant see that may kill you. Besides pure ignorance, this is perhaps the main contributing factor to how this stuff happens…even with highly trained operators this can happen.

The best way to combat this is to think that your gun could go off anytime and that the muzzle is constantly projecting a “death ray” that will destroy whatever it crosses. If you constantly treat a weapon that way…when you take it out to clean it…when you are walking around the range…while training…etc.  it starts to become second nature to handle the weapon so that it never points at something you wouldn’t want to shoot.

Now. Sometimes you DO have to point your weapon to the other side of a buddy. The way to do that is simply to lower the muzzle of your weapon as you sweep past a friendly then raise it back onto target.

You also need to be aware that your buddy may have to pass in front of YOU. If he does you simply point your muzzle towards the deck till he gets past then snap back up onto target again.

Once again…common sense? Perhaps…but something that needs to be highly stressed.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Share

10 thoughts on “tactical preschool 10”

  1. Been reading a while. Just wanted to point out the incorrect use of quotes for emphasis.

    “when “I” am out” — “I” should not be in quotes.

    Otherwise, another fine post. I’m enjoying the preschool.

      1. buddy13 responding here since I can’t reply to your reply:

        Only if you want to play strict grammarian. If it works within a contextual application, it’s fine with me.

        Just like martial systems, there is no ‘one way’ to write/speak. The context drives conventions. Given the tone of the blog and past posts, it works stylistically.

        If this was a peer review publication or some other formal context, I’d agree with you to a degree.

        But, it ain’t, so I don’t.

        Losing the forest for the trees here I think.

      2. And I apologize for derailing the comments right off the bat. I should’ve just kept it to myself. Keep up the good stuff.

      3. Don’t worry about it man. I’m not sensitive to criticism…I may not listen to it but I’m not sensitive to it. 😉

        After a few years in my line of work (and being called all sorts of things to your face) your feelings don’t get hurt all to easy anymore anyways.

        Post away, I don’t censor out anything except spam here.

        Glad to know your reading. 🙂

      4. I concede. I’m not saying it was a fatal mistake, just one of my own peeves. It’s certainly not that important.

  2. I stumbled upon your blog a few days ago, and have been following it since. I like how you pretend that we are all idiots (ok you don’t have to pretend), and give us a crash course in common sense. I think this should have been the first post. I dislike going to the public range because of the fact that at any given moment chances are that someone has the muzzle of their weapon pointed at me. The rules are simple kids. Let’s follow them.

Leave a Reply

