the warrior ethos


Cover of "Gates of Fire"
Cover of Gates of Fire

From fellow blogger Spartan Cops I found this excellent website:

http://www.stevenpressfield.com/category/the-warrior-ethos/

The author of the fantastic book “The Gates of Fire” has an online series exploring the Warrior and the Warriors Code of Honor. He writes;

These posts are intended for our men and women in uniform, but I hope that artists, entrepreneurs and other warriors in other walks of life will find them useful as well. The series examines the evolution of the warrior code of honor and “mental toughness.” It goes back to the ancient Spartans and Athenians, to Caesar’s Romans, Alexander’s Macedonians and the Persians of Cyrus the Great (not excluding the Garden of Eden and the primitive hunting band). Sources include Herodotus, Thucydides, Plutarch, Xenophon, Vegetius, Arrian and Curtius–and on down to Gen. George Patton, Field Marshal Erwin Rommel, and Israeli Minister of Defense, Moshe Dayan

I can tell where I will be spending some time reading soon.

Share

5 thoughts on “the warrior ethos”

  1. I read this book a couple months back based on an excerpt that a friend had given me. I loved it, it had me gripped from start to finish.

    The Gates of Fire explored the events and training leading up to the battle of thermopylae with exquisite detail. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

  2. I liked Pressman’s books, and I like what he is trying to do (I think understand what he is going for).

    I also think he is taking a very simplified approach to this. From what I have seen, the “warrior ethos” are taught by example from the prospective warrior’s role model, what we now call an non-commisioned officer in the military and a field training officer/ corporal (or maybe sergeant – depending on the department) in a police force). Pressman doesn’t touch on this, and that is one of the things that kinda makes me wonder about the validity of his research.

    He spends a lot of time describing the ins and outs of Spartan warrior life, but he doesn’t talk a lot about who was setting the example while it was happening.

    Brad

Leave a Reply

