belief


Joan of Arc
Image by victoriapeckham via Flickr

“One life is all we have and we live it as we believe in living it. But to sacrifice what you are and to live without belief, that is a fate more terrible than dying.”
– Joan of Arc

This quote made me think about the title of this blog, and what I thought of when I titled it so. When I consider Joan of Arc and what she believed, and what people thought of her because of it (crazy…witch… heretic?) it makes me recall a quote from Stephen Richey:

Voices or no voices, her achievements leave anyone who knows her story shaking his head in amazed wonder.

Deeds. It’s deeds that matter, and it was her belief that led her to those great deeds, and in a way…immortality.

Share

5 thoughts on “belief”

  1. I think it’s more an issue of conviction/commitment and courage that make figures like Joan of Arc stand out – not to mention more ‘earthly’ examples.

    Absolutely true that actions are more revealing than ‘words’ but I think it’s really the consistency of actions/words that reveals a sense of ‘belief’ for me.

    If someone does something (even multiple times) I can make assumptions about what those actions mean, but – like the quote from Joan of Arc – it’s the fact that her words and deeds combined are consistent. If she had said all those things and done nothing then her ‘inaction’ would be revealing about what she believed in as well.

  2. What you do speaks so loudly I cannot hear what you say- Ralph Waldo Emerson, and my favorite quote.

    It’s deeds that will always matter.

Leave a Reply

