tactical preschool 13


While many people think of “tactics” as pertaining primarily to armed confrontations “on foot”; many of us westerners spent far more time behind the wheel in dangerous areas than we do walking. In acknowledgment of that fact I will be including some fundamental vehicle tactics in my lessons.

Today we will be covering a basic rule of thumb.

Most of us have heard of the “2 second rule”, the reactionary gap that you are supposed to leave between moving vehicles so as to provide you time to respond to another drivers actions. It is an excellent tip, but I will be talking about leaving a “reactionary gap” between stopped cars as well.

cars3

Many carjackings and vehicle attacks occur at intersections, stoplights and roadblocks. A simple rule to remember is to always leave enough of a gap between yourself and the vehicle in front of you so that you can pull around it in an emergency. I try to place the lead vehicles rear tires in a visual plane that places them on the lower edge of my windshield as I look forward.

cars4

If you pull up too close to the vehicle in front of you it may block your attempt to escape.

cars2

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Share

4 thoughts on “tactical preschool 13”

  1. I was always taught that to create enough of a gap to maneuver around the vehicle in front, you need to be far enough back that you can see the other car’s rear tires. If you are so close that the front of your car or the back end of the vehicle in front of you obscures the tires, you are too close.

    Even outside of carjackings, I have reaped the benefits of this strategy when the car in front of me stalled at the light. Many drivers get stuck there, unable to pull around until they can back up. But using these techniques, it is far easier to just drive around.

    Same topic but different concern, I’ve also been taught never to pull up alongside another vehicle. Rather, to align my driver’s side mirror with the rear tire of the car next to me (mostly for passanger vehicles, doesn’t apply to transport vehicles). In this way, I can see the passangers on my side of the other car and can usually see the driver but for them to engage me, they have to turn significantly in their seats.

    Can look kind of awkward if you’re the first in your lane at a stop light but works perfectly well if you’re keeping space with a vehicle in front of you.

    Great posts, keep them up!

Leave a Reply

