L’Affaire Gates – Jack Dunphy – The Corner on National Review Online


An analysis of the Gates fiasco written better than I could manage.,

L’Affaire Gates – Jack Dunphy – The Corner on National Review Online

A man of ordinary sensibilities, having forced his way into his own home in broad daylight, might consider the possibility that he was seen doing so by someone who would misinterpret his actions and summon the police. Mr. Gates apparently failed to foresee such a contingency and instead assumed dark motives on the part of Sgt. Crowley. In fact, if Crowley’s account is accurate, it was Gates who profiled him, imputing racial animus as the reason for the sergeant’s presence on the front porch. When Crowley made the reasonable and tactically sound request for Gates to step out onto the porch, Gates, by his own account, refused to do so. “I knew he wasn’t canvassing for the police benevolent association,” Gates told a reporter from The Root. “All the hairs stood up on the back of my neck, and I realized that I was in danger. And I said to him no, out of instinct. I said, ‘No, I will not.’” Thus the stage was set for a test of wills, one that ultimately saw Gates arrested and carted off to the jug for a few hours.

Shared via AddThis

5 thoughts on “L’Affaire Gates – Jack Dunphy – The Corner on National Review Online”

  1. If you haven’t seen it, this is a good comment from Mark Steyn’s article on the kerfuffle:
    Did Sergeant Crowley have to arrest him? Probably not. Did he allow himself to be provoked by an obnoxious buffoon? Maybe. I dunno. I wasn’t there. Neither was the president of the United States, or the governor of Massachusetts, or the mayor of Cambridge. All of whom have declared themselves firmly on the side of the Ivy League bigshot. And all of whom, as it happens, are African-American. A black president, a black governor, and a black mayor all agree with a black Harvard professor that he was racially profiled by a white-Latino-black police team, headed by a cop who teaches courses in how to avoid racial profiling. The boundless elasticity of such endemic racism suggests that the “post-racial America” will be living with blowhard grievance-mongers like Professor Gates unto the end of time.

    1. Exactly. I don’t want to downplay the reality of racism. I just dont believe that this is an example of it..no matter how badly all involved would like to make it one. It also appears to be backfiring….

  2. If I, as a white guy, broke into my own house, and I were observed by me neighbors, I would expect the cops would be called and I would be asked about it. I would be deeply, deeply offended if the officer just “took my word for it” and walked away.

    I’ve heard people say that SGT Crowley’s actions mean that the United States is a police state. Frankly, from where I sit, it seems that Mr. Gates provoked the confrontation, for reasons of his own.

    I’m not saying that non police must be deferential to the police, because they are police, but I think the default setting for human interaction should be civility.

  3. I don’t know where these people live but I live in the United States where I can damn well say anything I want to a cop. If he’s offended- tough. If he has thin skin, go get another job. If you side with the cop, perhaps you’d be happier living in a police state. Try Iran or China or Cuba. Wherever you go, good riddance.

    1. You lack a fundamental understanding of what Disorderly Conduct charges are…and I can guess that I am safe in ASSuming that you are one of those “he was arrested for breaking into his own home” and/or “he was arrested for yelling at a cop IN his own home” guys.

      Gates the “mad professor”, who believes that any “white” cop who approaches him is a racist, was not “arrested for breaking into his own home”..he was charged with disorderly conduct. And he wasn’t arrested “in his own home”, he was arrested on his front porch, which is open to the public (otherwise nobody could ring a doorbell) where he continued to rant in front of non-LE personnel, which “can” support a charge of DC. Was Gate’s behavior severe enough to meet the DC threshold? I…and you do not know, but all the elements of PC for a discon charge are there otherwise.

      COULD Crowley have used his discretion and just left the ranting lunatic to his delusions? Sure…did Crowley HAVE to? Or was his decision to arrest illegal? I think not, at least not on the face of things.

      Gates’ supporters seem to be the ones reaching the farthest to rationalize his behavior and condemning the cops in this case.

      Why don’t you go drink a beer and chill out?

Leave a Reply

