dry fire practice


I am a big proponent of dry-fire training. For no expense you can practice almost every aspect of weaponcraft minus actually hitting a target. Without spending a cent on ammunition you can hone your draw stroke and work on trigger control. You can practice target transitions, weapon transitions, magazine changes, malfunction drills, movement, impact drills and myriad other skills that you would have a difficult time practicing “live” on most commercial ranges.

The most important thing to remember about dry-fire practice is safety. Make absolutely sure that your weapons are safe and clear. I recommend having NO live ammunition in your training area while dry-practicing. I use plastic training magazines in my handgun to prevent any accidents and to simulate the weight and feel of a loaded weapon. Another issue to keep in mind is a “safe-direction” just in case you fuck up. While you may not have a bunker to train in or a berm in your backyard, at least avoid pointing your firearm in the direction of your family room or kids bedrooms. My cinder-block garage walls may not stop much but its better than dry-wall and the shallow rise in my backyard is as close to a “berm” as I can get.

I mix my dry-fire training up. I have some small adhesive targets that I stick to the wall for fundamental, “muscle memory” repetitive drills. I draw and present, acquire the front sight and perform a compressed trigger squeeze. I mix in reloads, transitions from one target to the next, etc. I use this for honing basic skills and concentrating on proper technique; what I call “crawl” techniques.

In my garage I have a “bob bag” that I use for more dynamic, “in the hole”, movement based training , or what I like to call “walk” techniques. For this post I had my good friend Paul film one of my “bob” dry-fire workouts. The attached video illustrates some fundamental techniques I practice. The basic lateral “step and draw”, basic transition drill, transition with lateral movement and a “turn the corner surprise” drill that includes a muzzle strike. If there is enough interest I have a bunch of other footage of more combative “run” drills I do as well.

Excuse the messy garage..we recently hauled out the the two littleset youngsters room.

Share

4 thoughts on “dry fire practice”

Leave a Reply

