crossfit


crossfit_anarchist_shirt_web2

I have started my spring/summer workout cycle. This year Im trying the latest rage in LE/Military/SWAT/SpecOps conditioning. Its called Crossfit. Im a regular exerciser, I lift, I run, I do martial arts classes, but Crossfit is like nothing Ive ever done before.

For example; in one WOD (Workout Of the Day), I had to do cycles of bench press, deadlift and cleans in descending repitions. 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1…of all three movements, back to back, continious. Thats the “standard” for that workout. You are allowed to “scale” the workout in terms of weight used and rest between sets to complete. Needless to say I scaled the crap out of it and I still have been a sore puppy for the last two days. Like I said earlier, I run regularly, but this had me huffing and puffing harder than a 400M sprint.

My rationale for this torture stems from a practical application. Anybody in LE or the military who has ever had to sprint, all-out with a ton of gear on, finds that no matter how far you can run in shorts and sneakers, your legs turn to rubber after a few hundred yards. Throw in having to jump a fence or two and wrestle with a bad guy at the end and you are left “smoked”. This protocol purports to be the answer, and judging from the people who do it, it looks like it may be.

The Crossfit philosophy in a nutshell is:

– Eat meat and vegetables, nuts and seeds, some fruit, little starch and no sugar. Keep intake to levels that will support exercise but not body fat.
– Practice and train major lifts: Deadlift, clean, squat, presses, C&J, and snatch. Similarly, master the basics of gymnastics: pull-ups, dips, rope climb, push-ups, sit-ups, presses to handstand, pirouettes, flips, splits, and holds. Bike, run, swim, row, etc, hard and fast.
– Five or six days per week mix these elements in as many combinations and patterns as creativity will allow. Routine is the enemy. Keep workouts short and intense.
– Regularly learn and play new sports.

The gymanstic and specialized powerlifting skills are going to be a sticking point for me, but I used to be able to hold a handstand for a few seconds..years ago…so maybe Ill ease into some of it.

The key to it all appears to be interval training. While the WOD mixes in lower rep. max lifts, the bread and butter is grueling ammounts of squats, chin-ups, presses and lifts in sequence. Anybody interested in really being “fit”…I mean REALLY fit will benefit from looking at their website. I have high hopes for this summers results.

2 thoughts on “crossfit”

  1. Man, this was a great post. I have been doing crossfit for a long time..on and off due to dramatic life challenges….but it is the best methodology out there. It mixes within it everyone of the most scientifically advanced protocols including yes…interval training, russian conjugate training, high rep bodyweight training, powerlifting, olympic lifting…and all in well under 20 minutes per workout. Keeping the body cleansed of impurities helps to deal with soreness. I workout everyday just about and dont really experience soreness beyond the first 2 weeks of restarting the program.

    I usually scale down for the first month and then do them as rx’ed on the website from then on. Check out my blog to see some of the workouts I have been doing.

    And good luck!

    Mike
    http://www.hackingthebodymind.com

Leave a Reply

